Libraries are Closed on Memorial Day

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

This week was miraculous. By the grace of God, we found 4 new investigators. In the process of doing so, we also found several sections of our area that should be more likely to produce investigators.

I always knew this area had incredible potential. There’s no reason that it shouldn’t be the pinnacle area of the mission.

I’ve grown quite attached to the Cambridge proselyting area. I love my wards and their members. I love my investigators. I’m even coming to love the city. I feel possessive of my area in a parental way. I’ve watched over it and corrected it so much, and it’s beginning to show fruit. I worry in the back of my mind that future missionaries will come in and undo all of the fixing we’ve done here. It would be far too easy to go right back to wasting days doing things that are good, but don’t hasten the work of salvation.

IMG_5531

I’ve been pushed to my physical limits here. I’ve struggled to breathe comfortably in the coastal humidity, and my knees and feet ache constantly. But at the same time, I just feel like I can’t leave. One might say that “the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” But that’s the point of mortality, to subject the flesh to the spirit. My desire to bring others to Christ and build up the wards here far exceeds my body’s desire for rest.

I know that whatever happens will be the will of God, and I will choose to accept it, no matter what.

Love,

Elder Shull

Mom Note:  For those who do not know, Spencer has asthma and one of his greatest triggers is humidity.  It has been difficult to see his bright red cheeks in his photographs and know that he is struggling to breathe.  But I know that he is well taken care of by the members called to serve the medical needs of the missionaries.  I also know that he is on the proper medications and and least tells me that he takes them religiously.  What I am amazed at is the blessing he has had to learn to love this area with patience — something that is usually difficult to find in the midst of his difficulties with asthma.  Since he was a child, his attacks often manifest themselves in frustration and anger.  So, that is the miracle in all of this.  And believe me, it is a miracle that he has found patience, compassion, and love in the midst of struggling with the most fundamental of human tasks — breathing.

Leave a Reply

