The Power to Become

May 1, 2017
Our mission President’s wife, Sister Miller, frequently speaks of “the power to become” through Jesus Christ. She often cites Matthew 1:17:
And Jesus said unto them, Come ye after me, and I will make you to become fishers of men.
However, she always shortens the verse:
And Jesus said unto them, Come ye after me, and I will make you to Become.
 
The institutions of the world teach us to know things, but Christ teaches us to become something. “What manner of men ought ye to be? Verily I say unto you, even as I am” (3 Nephi 27:27).
For my entire mission, I have struggled to figure out how one learns to be like Christ. I tried to apply the methods I had used in my secular education, and the methods taught in Preach My Gospel: Study the principle, set goals and make plans to practice it. I never saw results from my efforts, and ultimately gave up out of frustration.
I had a unique experience on Saturday that revealed to me somewhat about the way we become like Christ.  Somehow, I found myself with an intense drive to go out and talk to everybody that crossed my path on saturday. It was sunny and warm, so people were outside.  It was a perfect day for missionary work, so we headed to a part of town that we knew was more humble than others.  Areas like that tend to be more receptive.  I talked to so many dang people that day, and not a single one was interested.  But you know what? I wasn’t afraid. The more people I talked to, the more peace came to my mind and my heart. God fulfilled His promise, that if I just open my mouth to speak, he would put words in it.
Through what felt like no effort of my own, I gained the resolve and personal peace to talk to everyone. Why was I not given this peace and resolve 6 months ago? I think the answer is found in Isaiah 55:8-9:
For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.
All I know is that I was given a gift from God, through the power of Christ given Him because of His atonement. He knows me, and knows the things that terrify me. He is a God of miracles, so why would I doubt that he had performed a miracle for me?
I know that Jesus loves you. Yes, you!  Whether you are of my faith or not. I really believe He answers the earnest prayers of all who call on his name.  We become at the pace that Christ wants us to, and no faster.
Elder Shull

Leave a Reply

